My 10.10.10 Experience

19 Dec

takbo para sa pasig

Warm-up:

I wake up that day at 3am, in my officemate’s apartment in Makati, take a shower and wear my battle suit for the marathon. I Placed every valuable things on my bag that I needed for the race, my cell phone, camera, extra clothing, towel and some extra money that its weighs about 4 or 5 kilograms. Then I ride a jeep to Pasong Tamo-Buendia Ave Intersection and on there I just walk my way to the venue of the 10K race which is Makati Ave-Ayala Ave intersection.

On my way there, I start to jog a bit to warm-up, and as I was nearing the venue I was stunned by the mass of people waiting at the starting line. The moment I get there, my first priority was to find where the runners would put their bags, as it is said on the videos for the event.

It took me a while to find it. But when I do, my jaw dropped as one of the coordinator said that they can’t carry more bags because the trucks are already full so we’ll just have to carry our bags all throughout the race. As if my world just fell and I keep telling myself

“Why am I here?”

“I have to carry my heavy bag?”

“This is not fair! How can I run properly with this?”

But then, I saw some runners having the same problem. “OK”. I said to myself. “If they could do then I could do it also.” So I put up myself and concentrate on the race. Warm-up a bit again and before I know it they were all yelling that the race was about to start.

takbo para sa pasig

takbo para sa pasig

Gun Start:

B-A-N-G! I see all walks of people making their way. Some of them even wore uniform running suits bearing the name of their company or school. Even the ones who carry their bags with them, like mine, are rushing. Some started fast and some started walking. Every one of them is eager to run and finish the race. At the mark of the 1st kilometer mark I started to gasp for air. So I started to walk and run alternately at different intervals.

It’s good that have my Philips Go Gear Aria with my, listening to music, As I have read on a website that , singing while you’re running would help you breath more easily, so I started singing to whatever is playing on my play-list without caring if anyone would hear me.

takbo para sa pasig

Finish Line:

Just 1 km before the line, almost all of the runners are all walking, maybe because of fatigue and the crowd of people hindering them to run anymore. It was a long 1 kilometer. Finally, I reached the finish line. The next thing in my mind was to get the finishers band, which is sort-of a prize if you finish the race. But with all thousands of people everywhere and like me many of them also don’t get their fin band; I just said to myself bitterly that I don’t need the band to prove that I finished the race.

So to sum it all up, I went on the race alone, carry my heavy bag throughout the race, sing songs as I run to so that I could breath better, run and walk alternately, didn’t get my finishers band, worst of all I didn’t get a picture of myself running, because I’m alone, but despite of all of it, I enjoyed the experience, a really once in a lifetime experience.

Leave a Reply

